Who are we?

The Board of County Commissioners is an administrative and policy-making body for Las Animas County as delegated by the Colorado General Assembly. Commissioners are elected at large from one of three geographic districts for four-years staggered terms, and are limited by two terms. The three-member Board of Commissioners works to represent the interests of the citizens of Las Animas County at local, state and national levels.

County Commissioners

Felix M. LopezDistrict #1
Phone: 719-845-2593
Luis Lopez IIDistrict #2
Phone: 719-845-2595
Tony C. HassDistrict #3
Phone: 719-845-2592

The Board of Commissioners provides services outlined in the Constitution of the State of Colorado, including the development and administration of the annual county budget, the development of county ordinances and resolutions, zoning and business regulation in unincorporated area of the county, establishing policy for the operation of county government and oversight of county government services such as road and bridge maintenance and human services.

Commissioner Regular Meeting Schedule and Agendas:

The Las Animas County Board of County Commissioners meet in regular session twice per month. Meetings are held the first and third Tuesdays at 9:00 a.m. in the Las Animas County Courthouse, Room 201. Regular meeting dates may vary due to holidays and other scheduling conflicts.

Please click this link to access the Agendas

Board of County Commissioners Agenda 

Commissioners' Districts post 2010 census


Trinidad Area


Contact Us


200 East 1st Street
Trinidad, CO. 81082


Email Us